[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Bloomsday @ Monday, Jun. 14, 2004

"To-day 16 June 1924 twenty years after. Will anyone remember this date?"
- James Joyce

Tim and I spent a wonderful half hour chatting on the phone today. He answered my, "Hello there," with a very friendly, "Hey you" and we were off.

Sure most of it was about work but this time it was funny - hysterical, even.

He paused for a moment - ten, fifteen minutes into the convo - and said, "We should go out for a beer some night this week."

"Yeah, that'd be good."

"Somewhere down by us. Not by work."

"Oooo, we should go to Brazen Head."

Brazen Head is one of my newly found favorite bars here. It's Irish and beautiful and just about halfway between my house and his.

"That or B Hamptons. Whatever."

"You wanna so some thing really fun with me one night in the next couple of weeks?" I asked, slyly.

He agreed readily, without asking what which is unusual, and I laughed, "Would you highlight my hair?'

"I thought you meant something really fun." he said but he agreed.

We decided on magenta or purple highlights. Just in time for my family reunion a week from Saturday. :-P

I'm thinking we should do drinks on Wednesday because it's Bloomsday although I'm sure no one else will be celebrating such an obscure holiday. Oddly enough, this Joycian website (is "Joycian" a word?) is called The Brazen Head. I didn't read enough to find out the significance, though. Internet laziness.

Tim's sudden friendliness is due to the fact that he and Renee are Officially Over. So he says. We'll see. By the time I ask him to do my hair I'm sure they'll be back together. Amber called me on Friday to tell me that amongst other things ("Finaly," I replied to the news with a laugh, "maybe I can get laid.") But I would like some Tim Time sans a girlfriend. Not 'cause I want to date him but because I want his attention all to myself. I'm selfish. I want to be Tim Greedy and not be ashamed...and not have that little hag show up to ruin it all. As I've menioned before, he's good at making me feel good. That's all I want.

And maybe a little drunken smoochin'.

I was surprised to get the invite as he's only asked me to have a drink with him one other time - the first time we kind of went out last summer - and the last time we had a drink was a disaster. I had just finished reaming him on the phone, again trying to tell him to straighten up and fly right forty minutes of The Brutal Truth - and the we met for a sullen beer. Neither of us had much to say and when he called me the next day he greeted me with, "I don't like you anymore." He never said that he was kidding because he wasn't. I hurt his feelings by telling the truth and he hates to hear the truth when it's not all about glorifying his Tim-ness.

So anyway, drinks with Tim this week - yay. I'll look girly and smell good for the first time in weeks and I'll curse Aunt Flo the whole time - 'cause you just never know how "meeting for a drink" will turn out - as she's due to arrive tomorrow.