[ emily�s sushi bar ]

'Bout Time @ Sunday, May. 09, 2004

I wished on the first star I saw tonight which I rarely ever do...but I did.

And I'll go ahead and say what I wished for despite the fact that there's probably some superstitious rule out there that says you should never devulge your wish.

I wished that I would just allow myself to be happy for awhile.

Why? Because I actually went out on a first date last night that could possibly be promising.

'Bout damned time.

We were slated to meet outside of an Indian restaurant but it was, unfortunately closed, so we drove to this little Mexican place for dinner, a lot of conversation and a few beers. Kudos to this boy because A.) he wanted to pull my chair out for me but I was a bit too quick for him and B.) he paid. He's an English major who also isn't doing working a job that requires or stems from such a major, he has a cat that he loves to talk about and he loves to hear about mine. And, although he has a blue collar job, he worries whether or not he has dirt under his fingernails.

Not that that's a prerequisite or anything but it's nice.

After dinner we went to a pool hall across the street even though we both suck at pool (I ended up winning more than I lost, though). More conversation there. The only thing I found to be a bit disconcerting is that he's the kind of person who looks you in the eye when either you or he are speaking. Nothing wrong with that, of course...it's just rare.

It was also a bit disconcerting that I realised about two games in that you could see down my dress whn I leaned over to shoot. Oh well.

And we were born on the same day - August 12th! How odd is that!? He, jokingly, said, "Hey baby, what's your sign?" and was shocked when I replied Leo. I was even more shocked when he told me he was born on that 12th. A mere three years apart. I don't think I've ever met anyone born on my birthday let alone someone I was dating (he called it a first date, not me).

Anyway, I called him on my way home from Dayton tonight because I wanted to which is, again, rare. We're going to play putt putt one night this week 'cause I've been fiending for some putt putt in all of this beautiful weather and the need was heightened by the fact that I went ot hit golf balls with the fam today.

Adding a little flair to my week, he called it.

And you know, I think, when I caught myself thinking about the boy, I think my hormones raged and tingled a little bit. A very good sign, indeed.

And I think we got a good two or three hours into the date before I thought of Big.

We talked for about a half hour and would have continued the conversation except that he needed to call his grandparents.

Aw. Gotta love...well, at least like...a man who calls his family on a Sunday night.

Oh, and as we were playing pool...when he would hand me the stick that we were sharing...he would brush my hand almost every time.

He said he was smiling all day today.

Oh, and at the end of our date, he didn't ask if he could see me again (although I would have said yes) but mentioned that he doesn't play games. That's a relief.

My grandma asked about my love life tonight and when I filled her in on the date and the boy, she grinned and patted my thigh. I think I've mentioned that she prays for me to find Mr. Right every day. Glad I could make her happy on Mother's Day (I also thanked her for giving birth to my dad which will hopefully make up for the fact that I didn't send her a card. I used to send cards to my grandparents on such days but stopped because my granparents are not my mom or dad after all - have to remember next year that she missed it...I'll send her a Thinking of You card later this week)).

And I got my first "order" for a pair of my handmade earrings! My aunt offered to pay me $20 for a pair like I have on now. Twenty bucks! I won't charge her but might use it as a marketing ploy...in case any of her friends ask where she got them.

Anyway, it's hot in here, I'm tired and it's a school night and my damned ovaries feel like little baseballs inside my body so it's time to relax.

Other than that, everything's fine.