[ emily�s sushi bar ]

A Pretty Yet Odd Dream @ Monday, May. 10, 2004

Last night I had the strangest dream about my ex from long, long ago - Nate. In real life, he got married about three years ago to a chick he met on the Interent (which I can no longer look down on, obviously) and, I suppose, now lives in Cincy. With a ton of kids, I'm sure (part of the reason we broke up was 'cause he didn't want to have children).

Anyway, in the dream we were walking somewhere by a river or some body of water because Nate wrapped his arms around me and jumped in. Nate's taller than me so while he had his head above water, mine was below. I opened my eyes and the water was pink, swimming and swirling with crabapple blossoms or some sort of other bright pink petal.

A jump in the dream found me standing in front of a mirror. I didn't look like me but more like Kelly Osbourne with black shaggy hair tucked under a knit cap. I was getting married but wasn't wearing a wedding dress instead I was wearing a trench coat, cinched at the waist....

Suddenly I remembered that I had to do something and left where ever it was that I was getting married which wasn't a church but more like a hall or something. As I was leaving, I came across this girl that I used to go to school with, Gina, dressed in a bridesmaid dress. She was laying on her back on the floor. I screamed at her to behave because I was getting married but she just laughed. I tried to tell her that I was good at her wedding even though I hated her but she wouldn't listen. I wasn't in Gina's wedding (in real life) but she did tell me that she should have asked me...I later came to hate her for other reasons.

Anyway, I then found myself running down a rainy street and I think Nate was chasing after me. I got into a car with someone who was supposed to be my brother but he was black. He said he had to go visit a prostitute as part of a sting operation (and, Elizabeth, I think he said the prostitute's name was Sugar). I was all worried about him but had him drop me off at a fortune teller's home/place of business.

When I went in, the fortune teller laughed at my hair and when I tried to explain that I was getting married, that she shouldn't make fun of me, and that I had been wearing a hat all day she wouldn't listen to me either. I started to leave out the back door and she tried to call me back....

And then I woke up.

I can see bits and pieces of my Sunday in there. A mention of Nate (which comes up about every fourth time my family gets together), the pink petals that always remind me of my grandfather who passed away years ago (we went to visit my grandmother last night) and a few other things....Most of it, though, I have no idea where it came from!