[ emily�s sushi bar ]

A Boy Likes Me! @ Monday, Feb. 16, 2004

I had a date with a boy last night!

We spent two hours on the phone yesterday afternoon and then made plans to meet in person Wednesday night.

He paused, "Um, what about tonight?"

Oddly enough, I had tried to get as much housework done as my tired body (up too late e-mailing him the night before) would let me because I knew we'd meet for the first time that night.

He didn't want to wait until Wednesday and I didn't really want to either. And he didn't want to wait around...we got off the phone and I had an hour and half to get ready which, since I'm a pretty low-maintenace, au natural kinda gal, wasn't a big deal.

I made my safety phone call to Amber to let her know where I was going - plus I couldn't wait to tell her. She basically signed me up for the eharmony thing anyway.

The date went so well that I became the girl that calls her friends from the bathroom to let them know how well it's going. I was a little buzzed to say the least! I know we probably shouldn't have met for drinks - it should have been something safer like coffee or lunch - but we were both a little nervous and the couple of drinks thing sounded good.

We met a bar we were both familiar with and then went to the tavern across the street a little later. That's where he kissed me (insert smiley face here)! He just leaned over and I smiled and said, "oh, hello" and he kissed me.

Chalk one up for Barry. He's a good kisser.

For the rest of the night we held hands and looked at one another with stupid grins plastered on our faces. Silly.

While he was in the bathroom I struck up a conversation with the biker sitting a few seats over - he was discussing Dylan live - ended up he was from Springfield, close to Dayton. He brought up all of these places where I used to go and I know was getting overly into the conversation but was making sure to include Barry as much as possible. After I hi-fived the guy for like the eighth time (probably after he brought up the Dead Milkmen which are two words I haven't heard in at least ten years), Barry leaned over and gently kissed my cheek. The conversation with the stranger ended shortly after that.

This is all a jumble but I had a great time, will talk to him today and see him Wednesday. The only thing that bothered me was how much he resembles Joe - the guy I worked with that I had the crush on? He's cuter than Joe but I know people will point out the similarity when they meet him. Oh well, I think he's cute.

And another eharmony guy that I kind of like sent me an e-mail with his phone number today...this could get interesting....

Going to Dayton this afternoon - so much to do....