[ emily�s sushi bar ]

And She's Down! @ Sunday, Dec. 28, 2003

I busted my ass last night roller skating. Literally. And totally passed out.

I was doing all right. Rollerblading is much easier...or at least skating straight is easier. That damn turn every two seconds on the roller rink is a bitch.

Close to the end of the night Amber and I decided to take another turn or two before they played the last song. She got off and I continued to skate. Coming around the bend, I totally lost my balance and hit the floor, right on my tailbone. No one laughed, I got up, said I was done skating and walked toward our table.

But didn't make it. I felt sick and sat down, hoping I wouldn't vomit right there in front of all these people. The next thing I knew someone was rubbing my back and talking to me and all I could think was, "Why am I so tired? Why can't I open my eyes? Why is this guy hitting on me?" I swear the guy rubbing my back was trying to get me up to dance with him or something. Passing out must make me delirous.

But I came out of it.

I must have been out for awhile because Amber was able to get my skates off and call 911. The paramedics arrived a few minutes later. I felt woozy but better and told them to check me out if they felt they should.

I must have been damned woozy because Amber's boyfriend, JR, said I sounded all seductive when I said they could check me out if the wanted to.

What annoyed the hell out of me was that they kept asking if I'd "had a few too many to drink." Noooooo. I'm nearly thirty and had no business trying to roller skate for the first time in twenty years, that's all.

I was sweaty, stinky sweaty. I sat still for a few minutes and then went to thank the guy who was holding me up/hitting on me. Then I sat back down and watched the end of the roller skating which was Roller Derby - a bunch of assholes trying to fall like I did on purpose.

I used the fact that I was injured to convince myself it was okay to veg on the couch all day. I have a small headache but that's probably from too much television.

So I had a whole week off and never got around to giving my apartment a good cleaning. Oh well. All I'm worried about is that I won't be able to get to sleep at a decent hour and the six fifteen alarm will come too soon. That's what I get for fucking up my sleep schedule.

And oh yeah, there were no real grown ups (why did I think there would be at a fucking roller rink?!)...just some kids in their midtwenties acting just like they did in high school. Not my crowd. I need to join a book club or something....