[ emily�s sushi bar ]

The Big Let Down @ Sunday, May. 02, 2004

What a let down this weekend was.

I left Columbus at twelve yesterday with plans to meet up with Debbie in Dayton for some errand running. I couldn't get her on her cell but left anyway, thinking she was probably just giving blood and couldn't answer the phone.

I called her several times on my hour long trip, though, and still couldn't get ahold of her.

Once I reached Dayton I called Mom and Dad's house....Mom was gone for the day and Dad was getting ready to mow the lawn so there as no use in goin gover there. Instead I went to the Pub and settled down at the bar with a Snakebite.

And then another.

And then another.

Two and a half hours after I had left Columbus, she finally.

She was hung over and had been asleep.

Okay, I was already pissed off but this sent me over the edge. We had plans. She knew I was coming up early to run around with her; she ven suggested that I come down on Friday so we could get and early start.

This on top of the fact that she was three hours late when she came to visit a few weekends ago...didn't make Emily very happy at all.

Apologies, apologies. I asked her to meet me for a drink to which she agreed, told me she'd be there in about twenty minutes and actually showed up forty minutes later.

I'm not one to be confrontational but I can't let this continue to happen. It's completely disrespectful. I didn't say anything but never accepted her apology. I don't know how I'm going to bring it up but it's gotta happen.

On top of that, we never made it to the cd release party either. She was still hanging. Granted, I was okay with it because I was hanging from all of the Snakebites I drank while waiting for her to show up. But still. It was a wasted trip. The only highlight was getting to have a drink at the Pub.

Argh.

I stopped and picked up some more jewelry making supplies, though, so the weekend wouldn't be completely wasted. And I visited with the 'rents, had a good home cooked meal. So it wasn't all a loss, I guess.

Driving back, though, I felt funny. A few months ago, I'd be driving into Columbus and see the buildings downtown and feel this swell of pride. This is where I live, I used to think. Today, I felt like I was driving into a strange town, somewhere I was only visiting.

I should certainly listen to these feelings.

And I also did some thinking on my drive. Tomorrow I'm going to make an appointment with my gyno. Finally. It's time to find out what really happened in October. If they can tell me at all.