[ emily�s sushi bar ]

The Mean Reds @ Sunday, Jun. 06, 2004

This has been the most depressing weekend.

Yesterday I moved off my couch long enough to do the dishes, feed the cats, change the litterbox, take a shower and carry the trash out to the dumpster. At least I know I'm not completely mired in depression...I completed a few menial tasks and was still able to take care of the two furry little beings that depend on me.

Today I've only moved long enough to log on here and check my bank balance to make sure there weren't any transactions I wasn't aware of that came before I started my regimen of writing down every financial move I make. I need to buy soda and bread and milk and such. I'd like to drag my ass over to Byzantium and pick up some pink teardrop beads to make a necklace and earrings to wear with my summery dress to my brother's graduation but I think I'll wait until later in the week.

My phone hasn't rang since Friday night when my grandma called from my parent's cell phone (I might not have answered it if she hadn't). They're up for the week and she wanted to know if I was planning on coming down any time this weekend. Nope. I'll be in Dayton for the next two weekends (said graduationm and his graduation party the following weeknd) - that's enough. Although, my weekend might have been better if I did go for a visit but probably not. My grandmother is kind of evil and I'm sure she would have mentioned the pounds I've packed on since I moved here.

She used to bring me diet books and exercise equipment when I was younger. Not hugs and chocolate chip cookies...she was just wrong on so many levels.

Recently, eating has made me so happy. Like Friday for example - Meredith took me to a fabulous Italian restaurant where I had Penne Rosa, calamari (which she only ordered because I like it - she didn't eat a bite) and a fabulous tiramisu served in a martini glass. I nearly choked with happiness when she said we should order dessert.

Last night I threw half a package of break 'n' bake cookies into the oven because I needed something sweet. I ate all but four of them last night which I finished this morning after I ate a bowl of cereal. Doesn't everyone eat dessert after breakfast? And I made mac and cheese for dinner (okay, so I got off the couch long enough to make some calories for myself as well). Can we all say 'comfort food'?

I think I'll go take a shower and think about going to the store.

Maybe.