[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Some Men Never Change @ Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004

Men are so predictable.

Innately, I want my friends to be happy. When they're sad it's just natural for me to try to make them happy in some way. So the other night when some of us went out for happy hour I called Tim to see if he was coming out - knowing that he could use a night out since his woman dumped him last week and also because he's not well liked and either wasn't invited by anyone else or felt he shouldn't come even if he were invited.

That, children, is an example of a run on sentence.

Anyway, he never showed up but I had a message from him when I got home. I called him back and we talked for about an hour. Not about anything important - mostly work. At the end of the conversation I made it clear that I was there for him whenever he needed someone to talk to.

And, as I found out, "there" is only ten minutes away - probably less. We live very close to one another.

He was there for me apr�s Big and - even though he's an annoying kiss ass - I care about him.

Here's the funny part. We were on the phone earlier today and I mentioned that I was a little cranky and hadn't slept well last night. "You should have called me," he said, "I could have at least brought over a bottle of booze or something." I laughed and said, "Yeah, then we could have not slept well together" and we both laughed at my completely unintended sexual innuendo. Then he said, "Seriously, if you can't sleep just call me, okay?" Some things never change.

As the world turns, as the world turns.