[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Blooming with Newnesss @ Monday, Nov. 10, 2003

Sometimes I find it so strange that I packed up and moved so quickly from the only city I've ever known. Granted, I'm only and hour and half or so away but for me that's quite a move - my roots were there and I thought maybe I'd never move. California was a brief possiblilty and even the thought of it terrified me. To think that when I go home this weekend there will be curves in the road I've already forgotten...and that I still call it home.

I think of where I am and how fast it happened at odd moments, mostly when I'm driving, when I'm on the commute to work for example. Or today, at lunch, as I stared out the window at the shops of Uptown Westerville. I had to say it out loud and whenever I do, someone always has to ask if I'm happy.

Yeah, mostly, I said. Still adjusting though.

Saturday was wonderful - except for the whole sex thing. I left the bar with The Girls for a quick bite at BW3's after the game and it felt so good to be out with new people, people who weren't those that I work with. To giggle with new girls, laughing at how nervous this new guy (who I've yet to name for this journal - let's see if he sticks around first) was knowing that I was out with his female friends, stopping for Red Bull so we could drop by one of their houses for a quick splash with vodka, smoking on the patio and watching the eclipse. When he got there a little bit later he put his arm around me, declared me drunk and asked if I was overwhelmed. I'd only had one beer at BW's and a few sips of my Bull and vodka and I did feel drunk but I wasn't overwhelmed at all. Just drunk on being happy to be with new people. Happy to know that someone was coming to see me, was perhaps worrying about me, in a hurry to get to me. Happy to know that these new people really liked me.

What's not to like?

And even though the whole pressure to have sex thing was yucky I do hope that he calls. It's nothing that a heart to heart conversation couldn't hopefully fix. He's a nice guy - only two years older than me - who actually likes to read and write. He's dateable. I thought of him today on my way to work and wondered if he'd wished he's gotten my cell number or my e-mail address since he only works a few blocks aways from me. I had silly girl thoughts of going to Tuesday night happy hour just so I could invite him to meet me out. I am a girl after all.

Thursday Tim and I are going to see Howie Day. Tim and I some other mysterious Howie Day fans that he knows. I haven't heard anything recently about The Girlfriend so I'm not sure if that's who he means. I'm sorry, I'm pretty musically inclined and I didn't even know who Howie was until I sat down to watch his DVD while Tim got ready one of those first nights that we spent together. I guess Tim could have easily introduced her as well. That's okay as long as he didn't introduce her to Remy Shand with the CD that I accidentally left there (and wish I hadn't). That's sex music...Howie - not so much.

So anyway, I'm here and things are looking up.

I'm blooming again. Finally.