[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Conversation Better Than Sex @ Friday, Jan. 30, 2004

I had an unexpected great night. Work was rough - lots to do and a killer hang over to do it with - and I was exhausted but decided to accept the managers' invite to go out for drinks after work.

Ack, drinks.

There were four of us and two dropped off within the hour. The manager that I had my One Night Stand with asked if I wanted to stay for another drink and I agreed. What have I got to do? Return some movies by ten and check to see if I have any new resonses from eharmony.com - woo-hoo. Another drink quickly became three or four. We're both transplants; lonely here in Columbus and starved for intellectual conversation - and it showed. It was tough at first, though, getting over the awkwardness of "we slept to gether once" and "I don't really know you that well" but before I knew it, it was nine o'clock.

I feel less hung over and it wasn't just because I had a little hair of the dog. I had a good conversation and feel better for it.

And I had no desire to go home with him. Sweet relief - that part of me is fast asleep and I'm incredibly glad.

I saw the guy that I stood up at the mall today - the one I was supposed to go out with after a month of talking on the phone but fell alseep on the couch instead and then never called him back. I waved at him and smiled. Let bygones be bygones - who cares?