[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Occupy My Mind @ Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2003

So many feelings. I'm trying not to think of California.

Work was good today. Tim stopped at my desk and asked if I was going to see another coworker's musical, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, and I said I was thinking about it. He wants to get a table Thursday night. Immediately I thought,Oh, great, I'll get to meet the new woman in his life. Not so. He wants to come over right after work to hook up my DVD player and stuff (we have the bigwigs coming in tomorrow so he had too much to do to come over tonight). "Then we can go get our drink on and go to the show," he said. I almost asked if we'd have to pick her up on the way but bit my tongue. I doubt it.

I'm going to wear my pink feather boa.

Then Jason called a little bit later and asked if I was going to be in town this weekend. People seem to forget that I live here. Maybe that's why they never call. Anyway, he invited me to a Halloween party his best friend is throwing Saturday night. Two parties that night - yaay! I wish it was a date but he invited a few of the other Unnoticeables as well.

I don't mean to be so down on myself but it's the way I feel right now. Sometimes I shine, at the office, you know, when I'm funny and quirky (I got a shock when i touched the metal handrail in the elevator and laughed, "Must be my shocking personality." One of the managers said, "You got that right," and he meant it. Not shocking in a bad way but...quirky like I said)...then I come home and the phone hasn't rung and I wonder where Big is and what he's going through right now. It's just a lot. A lot on my mind.

My parents sent me a cute Halloween card, though. It says "peek-a-meow" on the outside with orange dots and cutout where you can see the little black cat inside. The inside says, "miss you - happy halloween." Can't say that I ever thought about a Miss You Halloween card. It makes me feel like I'm more than an hour away. I'll have to call them later but feel like I might cry if I do.

So I've been cleaning. I unpacked the last two kitchen boxes...aluminum foil and plasstc wrap and all that...and put it in the basket Debbie gave me. I'm in the midst of laundry and putting away some various clutter from the weekend. Anything to occupy my overworked mind.

But I have lots to look forward to this week. Happy hour tomorrow, the show Thursday, Friday to recooperate, and then parties on Saturday.

Maybe by then the fires will be out.