[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Packing Sucks @ Sunday, Sept. 21, 2003

My kitchen is 90% packed thanks to my wonderful parents who came over to help me out for a few hours. I needed my mom to help me with the kitchen...I wish I had gotten some sense of organization from her.

Really all I have left is my bathroom, bedroom and that dreaded hall closet. Oh, and the coat closet and laundry closet. To think that I could be in a new apartment in a week or so. Scary.

I'm going to look at an apartment at one tomorrow that I'm already in love with. It's a spacious one bedroom with hardwood floors and a cute little kitchen. It's not available until the 30th which is good and bad. It would give me another weekend to get my shit together but would mean taking another day off and moving on a Tuesday. God, I hope they pay for someone to move me. My parents will be on vacay so I have no one to help me move. They should cover the cost, though, because I'm saving them loads of money. They won't have to use a temp service or a recruiter (sp?) to find someone. And I'm also saving them the time it would take to train said person. They used temps last year and it was a nightmare. Plus, if I have to wait until the 'rents get back they'll have already wasted four or five hundred bucks on me - in hotels and per diem expenses. They could certainly move me for that.

I'm so tired. I need to go out and buy cat food and something to eat. I really look forward to a hot shower and a bit of primping later tonight. Then I'll pack since I'm staying in Columbus tomorrow night...then off to sleep I'll go.

I bought a card for Debbie today and I think I'll see if she wants to meet out for a drink or two Wednesday or Thursday night. Hopefully I'll have an apartment by then so I can thrill her with those details, reassuring her that this is a good move for me and that it certainly doesn't mean the end of our friendship. In fact, I know for certain that I'll be back for Halloween. Sure, Columbus may be more "happening" but I love dressing up and cruising the District with my friends.

I'm so excited but really wish I could just get past the next week or two in a hurry. I hate to spend any amount of time in limbo and can't wait to be somewhat settled. It's amazing how quickly my life can be packed up in boxes. I can't wait to unpack and begin my new life!