[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Successful Sushi and Skinny Men @ Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

Well, the date was somewhat succesful. I had a great time and, although the conversation was stilted at times, there was plenty of laughter and that's what I like in a man. Someone who can make me laugh - even just a little.

Problem is, I can't see myself ever getting even remotely physical with this person. He's not my type at all. Handsome but incredibly thin. I'm not attracted at all to thin men. And he's a bit Monk-ish (as in Tony Shaloub), rearranging silverware and such - he admitted that himself.

But we agreed to meet again and the sushi was good (but still reminds me an awful lot of Big) so it was a pretty successful night.

Tim was supposed to give me an Out Call at 8:30 but the bastard forgot. I didn't really care, though - I've roughed it through several really bad dates. I just wanted someone I could call at the end of the night so someone knew I hadn't went on a vaguely blind date with a serial killer. So I called him, he felt like an ass for forgetting and invited me out to see a band. I was all for it until I asked who was going.

His recent ex.

I don't have a problem with the fact that it was his girlfriend (well, maybe a little - we don't want any of our exes to be happy with others, do we?) - she's very nice - I have a problem with the fact that she dumped him and he's still hanging out with her on a regular basis. And it's not like he wants to Just Be Friends - he wants her back and even bought her a ridiculously expensive spa package the other day. I can't be the third wheel in that situation.

I'm going to wash my face, brush my teeth and curl up on the couch with a cat and the remote. It's been a rough week and I'm happy to get some relax time at a fairly decent hour.