[ emily�s sushi bar ]

Mirabelle & Me @ Monday, Dec. 15, 2003

"She has learned that her body is precious and it musn't be offered carelessly ever again, as it has a direct connection to her heart."

That's the quote I was talking about. And her name is Mirabelle.

Re-reading that book (which really isn't all that good - sorry, Steve) really made me think. I have fallen into bed with several men and, really, it's got to stop. I wrote out my List a few years ago and vowed never to look at it again. It was too sad. Look, I've slept with two guys named Rich and three named David! What an accomplishment!

Daryl, one of my gay friends, and I have had lots of conversations about sex and numbers. We both agreed that sex is great and it doesn't matter how many people you sleep with - numbers are just that, numbers. Now I don't agree with that so much. Casual sex is so hollow. Sure, it's fun at the time (if you're sober enough to remember it the next morning) but it does nothing for me. Is that person there to go to the movies with me on a Sunday afternoon? No.

So that's it. In the words of Jimmy Buffett, I'm going to stop treating my body like a tent and start treating it like the temple that it is, the place where my mind and heart reside.

I'm off to make a mixed tape for a friend. I've got a fresh pack of smokes and will most likely open a bottle of wine to get me through this abnormally lonely evening.